History of a Serial Daydreamer and Storyteller

I’ve been a writer for as long as I could remember, and according to my parents, even longer than I could remember, as I’ve often been told the story of a toddler me attempt to replicate the alphabet I saw in my books, long before proper schooling. I credit this to a creative mind that was never able to think of another medium for expressing my ideas. I believe this is because for many of us, writing is one of the earliest forms of expression learned that can allow for ideas to be saved and to be revisited at a later date. With verbally expressing an idea, that idea can disappear into the void, but the written word offers a permanency to an idea that appealed to me at a young age. Thus, I gravitated to reading and writing as a hobby at a very young age, to better learn the art. Despite my hobby though, I never really had anyone to look up to when it came to reading and writing. Of course, my parents encouraged my interests, but they didn’t share them either. Instead, I found it was mostly my teachers over the years that encouraged me to pursue writing. I looked forward to creative writing projects and always secretly hoped the teacher would choose my story to read aloud to the class. Reading logs meant an excuse to read for hours, and I still remember my mother scolding me as a child to not neglect the rest of my homework, but throughout my school years, the addiction to writing was only further fueled.

The addiction to recording ideas was mostly in the form of story telling. As a serial daydreamer, I’ve spent years and years coming up with stories and characters that I wanted to read about. Those ideas existed only in my mind, and I soon realized that the only way to read about those adventures was to write them down myself. I still do this today, with boxes of journals to prove it.

However, this prolific behavior does not expand into academic writing as I have grown. This is because I have always associated academic writing with a set form whether it be MLA, APA, or anything in between. I remember my writing that was once praised was now deemed unorganized, and being given a format to follow. The format struck me as boring and tedious from the very beginning. Consequentially, I retreated into writing stories and abandoning the academic aspects of writing, despite my passion for it outside of the classroom. In my eyes, a form and outline is limiting to writing rather than a form of organization, and I saw my writing quality suffer as consequence for it. I won’t deny organization is imperative to make writing readable, but that does not mean it has to be constricting to a person’s writing and different forms should be encouraged when it comes to writing, no matter one’s age or standing.

Still, this negative association has not put a damper on my love of writing. As I type this, I have a notebook on the side that I’m using to jot my latest story idea down, and in my purse sit two other notebooks for whatever idea comes to mind. I can even say one of my proudest moments is finishing the first draft of a novel over the course of a single month, and I hope one day all this creative writing and daydreaming can come to fruition.

However, notebooks are not my only tools for writing. Like most people in class, I have my own personal laptop to save all my writing on, but I also have knowledge of a lesser known tool: dragon learning. This is as a thanks to my current job of transcribing phone calls for the hard of hearing when typing with the conversation makes it impossible to keep up. I am unsure if anyone in class has a use for such a tool, but should anyone find it useful, I can be able to show them the ropes, and I’d be happy to help.

For now though, I will simply focus on gathering as much knowledge as I can on writing and the English language and see where that takes me in the near future. My hope for the near future is that this class can help bring me back to the days when a writing assignment in class was met with excitement, rather than dread and procrastination. I still have hope there at least.

Leave a Reply

